The new E-DUI law takes effect on July 23, 2017 for Washington drivers. It will be against the law to use hand-held cell phones while driving. This includes all electronic devices, laptops, tablets and video games. E-DUI tickets will go on your record and be reported to your insurance provider.
You CANNOT Use Your Hand-Held Device While Driving
*Even when stopped in traffice or at a traffic light
*No typing messages or accessing information
*No watching videos or using cameras
You CAN Use Your Cell Phone If You Are:
*Hands-free (such as using Bluetooth) and can start use by a single touch or swipe without holding the device
*Parked or out-of-the-flow of traffic
*Starting your GPS or music before you drive
*Contacting emergency services
Electronics DUI (E-DUI) Ticket Cost
Drivers who break this new law could receive a Driving Under the Influence of Electronics ticket (E-DUI). The first E-DUI is $136 and the second E-DUI within five years is $235. All violations will be availabe to your insurance company.
More information is available from the Washington State Traffic Commission, at http://wadrivetozero.com/distracted-driving/